Pokemon Go, or Pokemon No?

Emperordalek

Emperordalek

July 12 2016
Hey, everyone! I'm posting this because it came up in the fleet chat last night, and I wanted to get some more thoughts on it. A few of the fleet members were talking about playing Pokemon Go, and I only had the barest knowledge of it despite downloading it the day it launched. My students were also gushing about it, so I figured I'd give it a try, given that I have some small amount of knowledge about Pokemon from having played a few of the older games.

Now that I've had a chance to play it, I have to say that it's everything I'd hoped that Ingress (another cell phone game tied to real-world locations) was going to be and ended up not being. I'm already at level 6 and catching a lot more Pokemon than I remember being able to catch when I played those older games, and I'm already interacting with real people far more than I did while playing Ingress.

Case in point: on my lunch break I went to a local library that has three different GoStops, and I noticed a very cute guy there who was looking out into a field, then at his phone. I looked at my own phone and saw there was a Stop out there. We happened to look at each other at the same, then at our phones, then back at each other, and then started laughing. "Hey," he said, "when you have the free time, why not, right?" It was a very sweet interaction, the sort of thing I rarely find in online gaming - though, with this fleet, that has been changing. :)

Anyway, my questions are: how many of you are playing this? Are you finding it an overall positive or negative experience? Have any of you dared to do it while driving your car (I hate to admit it, but I was guilty of this today)? And is anyone in the Chicago area interested in meeting up and going out to catch 'em all?

Happy hunting!

- TBW
3 people liked this
Gareth GXV3

GXV3

July 12 2016