The Salvation Army

Kiera Skylar

LoonShy

The Salvation Army

December 04 2014
Well, it's that time of year, the bell ringers are out in force, and, I feel that not enough people know they are very anti-gay, so, if you weren't aware of it, apologies, but please find somewhere else to give to, maybe somewhere that is pro-gay rights?
if you were aware of it already, maybe take this as a reminder to let others know? if people stop giving money for kids to get coats and the money gets used to help push for anti-gay laws, maybe things will get easier for us? I dunno, I'm not good at this, but I feel it's a responsibility we all share in some way, at least until we are truly equal.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/zinnia-jones/the-salvation-armys-histo_b_4422938.html

http://www.snopes.com/politics/sexuality/salvationarmy.asp

http://www.queerty.com/dont-fall-for-the-salvation-armys-pr-spin-theyre-still-super-antigay-20131209

if this is a topic that is unacceptable, maybe we should have a subforum or something for such topics? I don't think we can simply ignore them where we can gather safely.
9 people liked this
Edited December 04 2014 by LoonShy

Unknown Person

The Salvation Army

December 05 2014
I certainly wasn't aware of this so thank you for bringing it to my attention, although I don't really have the knowledge (other than the few articles you've linked) to say much about it.

It's perfectly acceptable to post topics such as this here, not just to inform but also to hopefully debate.

:)
Unknown Person liked this
Whittier Strong

SiranNataan

The Salvation Army

December 05 2014
The thing is, the Salvation Army is not a charity. It is a church. But the public gets confused, and the Salvation Army doesn't bother with clearing up the confusion.
3 people liked this
Trahelion

Trahelion

The Salvation Army

December 07 2014
This is something that bothered me greatly. Whenever I see a charity I am prone to dumping out whatever is rattling around in my pockets.