DaytimePride19

Matt Litchfield

H4z

DaytimePride19

May 01 2019
Hello fleeties. (said in my best River Song voice)

Very long time no chat.  I started playing STO again with the Age of Discovery expansion.  I haven't been active in chat much but I am so glad to see the fleet enduring!  The site has changed so much since I last posted so apologies if this isn't in the right spot.

While not gaming related, I wanted to share something that might be of interest to some folks.

Over the years my husband and I have been enjoying attending various conventions.  Most of them are typically sci-fi related but there have been a several soap opera related ones too.  Through all of these, while there has been some representation of LGBTQ characters/actors/artists, we've never encountered an event specifically recognizing the community's representation in entertainment & media.

Now while my domain is much more gaming, sci-fi, etc, my husband has been a fan of several soaps.  For years he followed As The World Turns specifically to follow the story of Luke & Noah, daytime's first on-going featured same sex couple.  Following the cancellation of that long running series, he began watching Days of our Lives which started to feature another same sex couple; Will and Sonny.

Don't ask me how he managed to pull all of this off in less than a year but this Summer, June 29th, we are presenting Daytime Pride, a fan event dedicated to LGBTQ characters (and some actors) that have appeared in daytime programming.

Additionally, I've set up a promo code for my fleeties for the purchase of either Silver or Gold tickets at a 10% discount.  I realize there isn't a huge overlap between soaps and gaming but ya never know.  Use STONEWALL in the promo code field to apply the discount.  Please note that the use of the code is limited to 10 tickets as seats are limited.  Tickets are on sale while they last but will be cut off by the end of May.