Invitation to participate in research on game avatars and gender expression ...

February 24 2017
Greetings!

I'm new to the forum, so please do let me know if this type of post isn't welcome here ... I couldn't find anything in the guidelines suggesting it might be a problem, but I'm of course happy to take it down if it's preferred.  :)

I'm a professor/researcher at West Virginia University, and most of my research focuses on videogames, avatars, and identity. I’m currently conducting an study about gender expression through videogame/virtual world avatars. I am posting to invite you all to participate in this research by taking an online survey. Nothing nefarious here … in addition to my research on games and avatars, I’m a gamer myself (primarily World of Warcraft), and I have a vested interest in scientifically understanding how various kinds of people experience various online spaces.

In particular, I'm interested in the ways that gender is socially constructed in and expressed through games. My colleague suggested that this is a community that might be interested in participating in this kind of research. This study, in particular, includes questions related to your own gender identity and gender expression, and how a particular game avatar of yours may or may not represent your gender. Although I am particularly interested in hearing from individuals who do not identify with 'traditional' binary gender categories (i.e., those who don’t identify as exclusively male or exclusively female), I would love to hear from people of any gender identity.